Digital Society

The Communications Sector informs, inspires and supports all people in Qatar to gain the skills, knowledge and understanding they need to use ICT effectively and safely so that they can engage in the country’s economic and cultural life and to support the development of a vibrant and capable ICT vocational and professional workforce in Qatar. We are keen on enhancing ICT readiness and usage of all members of society and businesses so that everyone can participate in building Qatar’s information-based economy. 

Specifically, Digital Society aims to ensure all people in Qatar have the skills and capabilities to use ICTs in an effective and safe way. The division’s programs work to bridge the digital divide in the country by creating opportunities for the population at risk of digital exclusion to safely access, effectively use, and fully benefit from ICTs. Alongside that, Digital Society works with strategic partners to enhance ICT education and students’ capabilities and skills as well as carrying out studies to measure the impact of information and communication technologies on the Qatari society; measuring changes over time.

Digital Society Programs: 

  • Digital Inclusion: The program targets segments of society that are at the risk of digital exclusion by creating opportunities for access, learning and effective use of technology. 
  • Digital Literacy: A program aiming to raise awareness and foster a healthy cyber culture in which all Qatar’s population has the knowledge and critical understanding necessary to engage in safe online opportunities.
  • ICT Skills: Aims at raising awareness and inspiring take-up of a wide array of possible ICT careers, in addition to developing a highly skilled and well-qualified ICT workforce to enrich Qatar’s knowledge-based economy. 
  • Digital Impact and Emerging Technologies: Better known as the Rassed research program, this area of Digital Society focuses on studying the effects of ICT and the Internet on society, and enabling a better understanding of emerging digital technologies and their potential.

شؤون المجتمع الرقمي

يسعى قطاع الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات إلى تعزيز الثقافة والمهارات الرقمية بين جميع شرائح المجتمع القطري بهدف تمكينهم من الإسهام في الحياة الاقتصادية والثقافية لدولة قطر من خلال الاستخدام الفعال والآمن لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات، وبما يدعم توفير قوى عاملة مؤهلة في سوق العمل القطري. وانطلاقًا من هذا الهدف، تلتزم الوزارة بخلق مجتمعٍ رقميٍ متكاملٍ يتمتع جميع أفراده بفرصٍ متساويةٍ للنفاذ إلى التكنولوجيا من خلال خلق أكبر عددٍ ممكنٍ من الفرص لتعزيز جاهزية أفراد المجتمع الرقمية للمشاركة في بناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة.

وفي هذا الإطار، يعمل قسم "المجتمع الرقمي" على تزويد جميع سكان دولة قطر بالمهارات والإمكانات التي تساعدهم على استخدام أدوات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات على نحو آمن وفعال. وتركز برامج "المجتمع الرقمي" المختلفة على سد الفجوة الرقمية بين أفراد المجتمع من خلال التركيز على خلق الفرص الملائمة للشرائح المجتمعية الأكثر عرضة لخطر الإقصاء الرقمي كي يتمكنوا من الوصول الآمن إلى أدوات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات واستخدامها بفعالية، ومن ثَمَّ تحقيق أقصى استفادة منها. ويواصل فريق "المجتمع الرقمي" العمل مع شركائه الاستراتيجيين على تعزيز الثقافة الرقمية والمستوى العلمي والعملي للطلاب في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات، فضلًا عن إجراء عدد من الدراسات حول تأثير التكنولوجيا على المجتمع القطري وتتبع التغيرات التي تطرأ على المجتمع. 

برامج المجتمع الرقمي:

  • الشمولية الرقمية: يسعى برنامج الشمولية الرقمية إلى تعزيز المهارات الرقمية لدى الشرائح المجتمعية الأكثر عرضة لخطر الإقصاء الرقمي عن طريق خلق العديد من فرص الوصول إلى أدوات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والمهارات اللازمة لاستخدامها بفعالية.
  • الثقافة الرقمية: يهدف برنامج الثقافة الرقمية إلى تعزيز مستوى الوعي لدى أفراد المجتمع القطري وخلق ثقافة سيبرانية صحية، بحيث يتمتع جميع أفراد المجتمع القطري بالمعرفة اللازمة للاستفادة من الفرص المتعددة التي يوفرها الفضاء الإلكتروني بأمان.
  • المهارات الرقمية: يدعم برنامج المهارات الرقمية رفع مستوى الوعي والاستفادة من مجموعة كبيرة من الوظائف المتاحة في مجال الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات، بالإضافة إلى تطوير قوى عاملة ماهرة ومؤهلة في هذا المجال لتعزيز الجهود الرامية إلى خلق اقتصاد قطري قائم على المعرفة.
  • التأثير الرقمي والتكنولوجيا الناشئة: يشتهر هذا البرنامج باسم برنامج "راصد" البحثي، حيث يركز البرنامج على دراسة آثار تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات والإنترنت على المجتمع، وتزويد الأطراف المعنية بالبيانات اللازمة حول آثار التقنيات الرقمية الحديثة وإمكانياتها.