Data Management Policy

Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Qatar Digital Government

As we move into a knowledge-based economy, information becomes a valuable asset that the Government must manage as a public trust on behalf of its people. The effective use of data within and across public agencies is critical to enhance the ability of the Government of Qatar to formulate policies and to deliver more convenient and citizen-centric services to the public.

Managing information as an asset will increase operational efficiencies, reduce costs, improve services and promote better governance. It is, therefore, of utmost importance and good practice that we put in place the right governance, controls and processes to ensure proper data management within Government Agencies. 

The Data Management Policy aims at establishing the governance and standard processes across the Government Agencies in the State of Qatar for managing and sharing data. It defines clear duties and responsibilities for all who manage public sector information. The policy includes key provisions on Data Governance, Data Administration, Data Protection, and Data Sharing. It should be noted that this policy operates subject to privacy, copyright, legal and security considerations.  Agencies should ensure that they are compliant to the relevant legislations applicable in the State of Qatar.

This Policy was approved and issued by the e-Government Steering Committee in March 2015 for compliance by all Government Agencies.

سياسة إدارة البيانات

الثلاثاء, 15 سبتمبر, 2015
حكومة قطر الرقمية

بينما نمضي قدمًا نحو اقتصاد المعرفة، تصبح المعلومات أحد الأصول الثمينة التي يجب على الحكومة إدارتها باعتبارها أمانة عامة نيابة عن المواطنين. فاستخدام البيانات داخل وعبر الجهات الحكومية بفعالية أمر بالغ الأهمية لتعزيز قدرة الجهات الحكومية على وضع سياسات وتقديم خدمات أكثر ملاءمة للجمهور.

إن إدارة البيانات باعتبارها ثروة وطنية من شأنه زيادة الكفاءة التشغيلية وخفض التكاليف، وتحسين الخدمات وتعزيز أسس الحوكمة. ولذلك فإنه من الضروري وفقًا لأفضل الممارسات أن يتم إرساء الحوكمة والضوابط والعمليات والإجراءات الملائمة لضمان الإدارة المثلى للبيانات داخل الهيئات الحكومية.

تهدف سياسة إدارة البيانات إلى وضع عمليات للحوكمة والمعايير لكافة الجهات الحكومية في دولة قطر لإدارة وتداول البيانات، كما تضع واجبات ومسؤوليات واضحة ومحددة للقائمين على إدارة معلومات القطاع العام. وتتضمن السياسة أحكامًا رئيسية عن حوكمة البيانات، وإدارتها، وحمايتها، وتداولها. ولابد من مراعاة اعتبارات الخصوصية وحقوق التأليف والنشر والجوانب القانونية والأمنية عند وضع هذه السياسة موضع التنفيذ. ويجب على الجهات أن تتأكد من مراعاتها للتشريعات ذات الصلة والمعمول بها في دولة قطر.

وقد تم اعتماد هذه السياسة وإصدارها بواسطة اللجنة التوجيهية للحكومة الإلكترونية في مارس 2015 وذلك لاتباعها من قبل كافة الجهات الحكومية.