Qatar Rail Beats Vodafone Qatar 7-1, Crowned New Champion

Sunday, June 3, 2018
Qatar Rail Beats Vodafone Qatar 7-1, Crowned New Champion

Doha – Qatar

Saturday's final of the Minister of Transport and Communications’ Fifth Ramadan Football Cup Championship at the Ali Bin Hamad al-Attiyah Arena will be remembered for long, most notably, for Qatar Rail’s landslide.

The Qatar Rail football team have been crowned champions of the fifth annual Minister’s Ramadan Football Cup Competition 2018 after defeating the Vodafone Qatar team 7-1.

There were many goals in one direction and everything was fully under Qatar Rail’s control in a faceoff that saw only one goal for the opposing team.

To score a goal was not a hard job for Qatar Rail players. The match was neither a tight affair nor a deadlock to break. The ball touched Vodafone Qatar’s net 7 times.

Qatar Rail, which scored 7 easy goals, actually wasted several other golden scoring opportunities.

HE Minister of Transport and Communications Jassim Saif Ahmed Al-Sulaiti attended the final match and crowned the winning team.

Civil Aviation Authority Chairman HE Mr. Abdulla bin Nasser Turki Al Subaey, Qatar Rail Managing Director & CEO Eng. Abdulla Abdulaziz T. Al Subaie and Qatar Aeronautical College Director General HE Sheikh Jabor bin Hamad Al-Thani also attended the match. Vodafone Qatar CEO Sheikh Hamad bin Abdulla Al-Thani, Mowasalat (Karwa) Chairman Mr. Nasser Mohammed Al Malki and Qatar National Broadband Network CEO Dr. Eng. Ahmed Salman Al-Sulaiti, were also in attendance.

This year, 12 teams divided into 4 powerful groups representing transportation and communications industries competed for the title. Group 1 included Ooredoo Qatar, Milaha, and Qatar Aeronautical College. Group 2 included MOTC, Qatar Airways and Qatar Civil Aviation Authority (CAA). Group 3 included Vodafone Qatar, Hamad Port and QTerminals and Group 4 included Qatar Rail, Mowasalat (Karwa) and Mwani Qatar.

This is the fifth time this competition has been organized. The first four titles of the championship went to CAA, Qatar Rail, MOTC and Ooredoo Qatar, respectively.

This year’s 15-day championship was organized by MOTC in association with Qatar Rail. Vodafone Qatar and Qatar Airways were the sponsors.